Quilt Frustration


I tried quilting the rail fence last night and achieved a level of frustration that is very rare for me. My feed dogs didn’t like how heavy an 8 foot blanket was to pull through. I had issues with the space between the needle and the motor. I have 8 inches of space on my old machine. When you have 4 feet of quilt rolled up in that space, things get very tight. I have not experienced this before. My frustration completely overwhelmed me and I gave up.

I should have gone to yoga to get my zen back but I had already missed the last class of the night. And to add to my stress, my Internet was messed up last night and I spent time with tech support to fix it. Had to reconfigure the modem and router after a storm we had and fix an IP address issue.

I have enjoyed the cutting and piecing together of this beast but the quilting has left a sour taste in my mouth.

Tonight, I will double check my pinning and then I will work on it in quarters to complete it for it’s owner who I know is patiently waiting for it. Sorry Tork. I know it’s a bit late. Almost there.

How do you overcome frustration in the quilting process and what drives you to continue when you hit a wall?

2 Comments

Filed under Quilts

2 responses to “Quilt Frustration

  1. I am reminded of the cute movie “Ever After” with Drew Barrymore as she is all dressed up for the ball, everyone is looking at her when she arrives, and she says to herself, “Breathe…just breathe…”
    I know exactly what you are going through!! I have had to undo seams, one stitch at a time, which to me was like torture 🙂
    My new Bernina 230 PE only has 6-1/2 inches of space between the needle and the motor, so I understand the space issue. My advice is to take your time, roll the excess fabric as tightly as possible (kind of like a cinnamon roll) and feed it through slowly. You will have to re-position the fabric often, so keep your needle in the down position if you can, so the stitches are consistent.
    I like playing music while I quilt; it tends to calm me down. Remember…breathe, take a break, have a cup of tea and don’t stress. And please let us all know how it works out. Good luck!

  2. I got it 50% quilted last night. By taking a different approach I rocked it out! Changing the pressure on my foot also helped a lot. Sometimes I guess we all have those days where frustration takes hold.

What Do You Think?

