Out with the old, in with the new


This is Kenny. Kenny is my 40 year old Sears Kenmore Zigzag machine. Kenney has been an awesome machine but was limited as to what he could do and has moved into retirement in the sewing room closet.

Kenny has a lot of stitches you can chose from however to access them you need to open him up and change his “cams” to get to them.

This is my new Janome.  I have no idea how to use it yet and no idea what to name it.  Sewing will be slow until I figure this one out. 

I have never used a computerized machine before.  All the sewing I have done is on Kenny who is older than me.  It’s all so new and dreamy and complicated all at once but I am sure I will love it once I have it figured out.  Anyone have ideas on how to name a sewing machine?

4 Comments

Filed under General Ramblings

4 responses to “Out with the old, in with the new

  1. Great post…love the pics of the Kenmore!
    I have a new Bernina and I call it “My New Baby” because my other baby is my 24 year old son (he is the youngest of my 3 sons). It just so happens to be my baby’s birthday today!! (no, not the Bernina…haha!)
    I love your concept of naming the sewing machine…maybe I will think of a new one…like Beatrix Potter. Are all sewing machines female?? 🙂

    • My Kenny was a boy. My old car was a boy. My new car is definately a girl. The windows are tinted purple and I bought it like that. My new Janome? I have not decided whether its male or female. I think I need to sew on it some more. I do love the name Beatrix for your Bernina.
      Happy Birthday to your youngest. I remember 24. It was a great time except being the broke student part! Hope he has a great day and of course you too!

  2. I thought I was the only crazy one who got so attached to her sewing machine! I used to have a cheapo White a few years ago that caused me nothing but grief; then I moved on up to a Kenmore which was OK, but I could never quite get in sync with it; plus it was noisy as all get out, and kept eating my thread! So finally I bit the bullet and bought a Bernina Bernette (used) a few months ago and I LOVE IT! It’s my baby, my pal, my companion, etc., etc., etc. I even talk to it sometimes. We totally in sync now, and even tho it doesn’t have any of the bells & whistles regular Berninas have, I’m perfectly happy with it as it is (I’m a simple person, with simple tastes :)). I might just give it a name too–good idea.

    • My Kenny was eating thread too and would mangle a button hole to oblivion. There is no such thing as being crazy when it comes to sewing and our machines. We are just artists and the sewing machine is our paintbrush and canvas…so I keep telling myself over and over…

What Do You Think?

