Breaks are important part of your day


All too often we women find ourselves running around and taking on more than we can handle. We dive into the stresses of work. We arrive early and leave late. We eat lunch at our desks. Then we head home to cook dinner for our loved ones, then clean, spend time with family and pets, prepare next days lunch, do laundry, exercise and then we get to relax in front of the TV, sewing machine or a good book before we go to bed. Then we get 6 hours of sleep only to wake up just as tired and stressed as we were when we went to bed.
I have a very stressful job normally. My boss’s mother passed away on Sunday and then his father in-law had a stroke last night. Needless to say I am now looking after everything for the week on top of dealing with the concern surrounding the return of my Grandpa’s cancer.
I grab whatever serenity I can. Working downtown Toronto does not always allow that to happen. Fortunately, across the street from my office is a small park. It has become known as a dog park and the owners are not always compliant with the scoop poop law but there are picnic tables strewn about. You just have to watch your step. Today, I ate my lunch in this little bit of peace and my stress level reduced. I watched dogs chase squirrels and pidgeons and then owners chasing their dogs. It’s not much but at least it’s something.

20110719-051123.jpg

When I get home, I take my kitties outside for a romp in the back yard. There is something so incredible and relaxing while watching them explore and chase bugs and run up to me for rubs as if they are thanking me for this time with them outside.

20110719-050908.jpg

20110719-050928.jpg

<a

How do you cope with daily stresses and how do you unwind?

1 Comment

Filed under General Ramblings

One response to “Breaks are important part of your day

  1. Pingback: FNSI vs Heat Exhaustion/Dehydration | Inspired by kristal

What Do You Think?

