FNSI vs Heat Exhaustion/Dehydration


My Friday Night Sew-In got trumped by me ending up with heat exhaustion or dehydration or a bit of both.  I had a very busy week at work with extra responsibilities all around as my boss was off work all week due to a death in the family.  I was more than happy to help out during this time.

Aside from my daily accounting duties, the extra duties I picked up and programming a new help desk – oh and training a new staff member – I think the issues started on Wednesday.  I did not follow my advise very well on taking breaks and I know I didn’t have as much to drink as I normally do.

I left work early on Wednesday to make the almost 2 hour drive to the wake to support my boss and his family.  I forgot to bring water on my trip and less than 10 minutes from my destination while stopped at a red light, I was rear-ended.  I went to the wake, then the collision reporting center  and was told I have to come back as the accident was on the border of 2 towns and I had to go to the other center that was closed.  By this time, it was after 10pm.  I didn’t have dinner or anything to drink for at least a half a day.  Did I mention it was 40 C (104 F) outside with the humidity?

Thursday, I made the same trip to the funeral, then to the collision reporting center and then to a visit with my Grandparents who don’t have air conditioning.  Thursday was 48 C (118 F) and although I drank water, I was in and out all day.

Friday, I was back to my normal routine but the air conditioning at the office was having a real hard time keeping up and we all were sweltering in the heat.  That evening I planned to participate in the Friday Night Sew-In and have a nice relaxing night in after a week of insanity.  I set everything up, basted the quilt I was going to quilt and noticed I was beginning to feel off.  I was so thirsty.  I was sweating a storm in the air-conditioned house and began to feel dizzy, nauseous, light-headed and super weak.  I gave up on trying to sew, grabbed a Gatorade and watched Despicable Me. 

Saturday, I was no better.  I ended up drinking about 7 bottles of water, took multiple naps and had to force myself to eat soup for needed nourishment.  By Sunday, I was almost recovered however, I was still incredibly thirsty and drank water like it was going out of style.

Today I am still thirsty and somewhat tired.  I have had my 2+ litres of water and have definitely learned my lesson.  No matter how hectic your day is, make sure you take breaks and keep hydrated in this weather.

7 Comments

Filed under General Ramblings

7 responses to “FNSI vs Heat Exhaustion/Dehydration

  1. Oh, I am so sorry to hear what a day you had…and the next day…and the next. Take care of yourself!

  2. Pingback: WATER OR COKE WAKE UP AMERICA AND WORLD « WebAsif

  3. Where do you get your energy from? I can’t even IMAGINE doing all that and then stop to quilt too! Boy. I guess lesson learned…

    • I didn’t even mention that I go to Hot Yoga a few times a week as well! My energy comes from pure determination..er, I mean stubborness. Sometimes I just keep going until, well, until something like this happens. I take 4 or 5 day weekends each month during the summer to recoup and I eat a pretty healthy diet. I drink pop maybe twice a month. I LOVE veggies. I can’t seem to get enough of them. This summer it appears to be eggplant and asparagus and baked potatoes. I haven’t eaten red meat in about 16 years and I walk 1/2 minimum each day as well. I find most times the more active I am, the more energy I have. Quilting is relaxing for me. It shuts out the days activities at work giving me a mental break and the sound of my Janome humming and my kitty purring behind me on the chair just melts the stress away.

  4. (forgot to check the “notification” box.)

What Do You Think?

