Kitty Couch


It’s been a great week for me. My mood is good. I have more energy than normal and I have reacquainted myself with my sewing machine!

My parents are winter Texans and last year they brought home meters upon meters if fabric for me with a simple request of making a bed for one of their cats. Almost a year has passed and this past week I have fulfilled their request.
Buster, and his sister Dusty are Maine
Coons. Dusty is an average size cat. Buster, well, he is 25 pounds and is 42 inches long and is NOT overweight. Here they are laying on a kitty quilt I made them in the summer.

20120310-225608.jpg

I decided not to make a typical cat bed as Buster is not a typical cat. I found and purchased the pattern and followed the directions to the most part. It called for lining to hold the foam beads used in bean bag chairs. I will not use lining again for this. The static between the two is horrible and the lining is annoying to work with. Inexpensive broadcloth would have worked much better. Here are the insides. The outer fabric is removable for washing and all the pieces are held together with 2 inch strips of Velcro.

20120310-230237.jpg

And here is the finished product already being used by my little munchkin!

20120310-231345.jpg

The bed is 2.5 feet long and is 8 inches off the floor. I am definately making another one and know what minor changes in the pattern to make it easier to put together. Buster, hope you like it but until you get home in 3 weeks, Binky is going to test it out for you!

Day 17 of 39

2 Comments

Filed under Creations, My 39 days of feeling, Pets

2 responses to “Kitty Couch

  1. Bee

    Fabulous!! Oh my goodness, Buster is one big kitty…but Binky is still my favorite 😉

  2. LOVE the cat fabric! and your bed turned out very well. Perhaps you need a more substantial tester, though. Are there mountain lions where you live? 🙂

What Do You Think?

