65 Days


Sixty-five days ago my life changed forever and not in a good way.  Sixty-five days ago my mom, my best-friend, lost her battle to stage 4 lung cancer.

She was only 62 years old and died on November 2, 2014.

My mom beat the odds.  She was given 5 months to live when diagnosed on October 19, 2012.  This fact was kept a secret from us.  I understand why it was her wish, however if I had known that, I would have spent every weekend with her and not every second or third one over the next two years.  I am not saying I disagree with her choice.  It was her choice to make.  I just wish I had more time to spend with her.

I miss my mom.  I miss our random chats about nothing and everything under the sun.  I miss her advice she would always give me on sewing and cooking. I miss her voice.  Her hugs and kisses.  Her huge loving heart.  I miss everything about her.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under General Ramblings

4 responses to “65 Days

  1. I am so so sorry for your loss. My grandmother got diagnoised with cancer on christmas eve. Unfortunately it was too late when they found it that she was just brought home with hospice yesterday. Cancer is such an awful, awful disease!

  2. On December 15, 2014, I lost my mom and best friend to a sudden heart attack without a single warning sign and the loss is consuming me. I guess this will be the true test of whether “time heals all wounds” I suppose. I’m still waiting. 5 1/2 weeks later it hurts as much as the day it happened. I’m so sorry for your loss! And mine.

What Do You Think?

